Book thief and summer

I have just finished the Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I think that Markus Zusak books are borderline prose poetry, but with distinct plot. The writing is just so captivating in every way and the story just basically ripped my heart out, mashed it up and then shoved it back into my chest. ANd the thing is, the narrator starts with the end. He tells you what happens at the end, then lets you get attached to the characters and then it happens anyway. The narrator is also an interesting choice: Death. Death tells the story. It is really very interesting to perceive Death as a human with human thoughts, and as a humane human with a horrible job. I highly recommend it. 

Speaking of prose poetry… I have started an Advanced Creative Workshop at Columbia University, so perhaps I will post something that I write if I come up with something good– would you read it? 

Anyway, if you have read The Book Thief or any other Markus Zusak book, I would love to know what you think of his writing! And if you haven’t then you should have your nose in one of his books and should not be looking at the computer! Happy reading :)

3 thoughts on “Book thief and summer

  1. Ambilit says:

    Hi! I just stumbled upon your blog and thought I’d say hi. :)
    I read the book thief last year and it completely swept me away. I completely agree with the way you descirbe how the story almost tricks you into loving the characters despite the inevitable ending (which had me sobbing like a baby). Though I found the choice of death as a narrator strange, it brought a new element to the story which was fascinating to explore.
    I look forward to reading more of your reviews :) especially when you start your brit lit class! I’m starting an English degree myself in Sep so it’ll be interesting to read someone else’s esperiences. :)

    Like

What do you think?

