12 Pretty Neat Last Lines from Literature

Hardcovers and Heroines

To round out last week’s post 11 swoon-worthy first lines from novels I tried to hunt for fantastic last lines. Perhaps unsurprisingly, it was much harder to find great last lines. It seems like people are always talking about how important a writer’s opening line is, but I find as a reader I am more often disappointed by the last line of a novel or short story and as a writer I find them much more difficult to craft. Also, it turns out that there aren’t that many lists on the internet, other than this one. Shocking!

Here are some of my favorites that I found. I don’t see as clear of a theme between this list as clearly as the last list. If I was going to categorize them, I’d say that about half sum up the whole narrative and the other half have a great sense of…

View original post 362 more words

One thought on “12 Pretty Neat Last Lines from Literature

What do you think?

