Shipping, Stars, and Maureen Johnson

Tuesday night I had the pleasure of meeting Maureen Johnson at a book talk that she did at Watchung Booksellers! She is super genuine and absolutely hysterical. Accompanied by a wand, Miss Johnson took our questions and ran with them, and ran and ran, which was lovely. I felt like I was in the room with a better and enhanced Lorelai Gilmore– it was fantastic. Her talk was a question and answer session that had the audience in hysterics. Not only did she tell us about her book, but she told us about the book through anecdotes of her career and research. She also entertained theories about fascist moths (yes, you read that right) from one absentee audience member. It was really a very enjoyable evening spent in a lovely bookstore with other book lovers.

Maureen’s new book The Madness Underneath was released on Tuesday. It is the second in the Shades of London series. The first is entitled The Name of the Star. I got a copy signed (smiles excitedly) and have started reading it. I may or may not have been up until 1 on a school night because I couldn’t put it down…O_o When I finish it, there will be an update!

Meanwhile, I reviewed Rainbow Rowell’s new book, Eleanor and Park:

Endearing, captivating and romantic, Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park is a great new read. Rowell tackles tough issues while creating an irresistible romance. Status, bullying, internal beauty and family are at the heart of the novel. Eleanor and Park are forced to navigate romance for the first time while also dealing with the very real issues of domestic safety, wealth, and social status.Watching them learn to trust each other was both frustrating and invigorating because I could see what both characters were thinking. The use of dual perspectives simultaneously keeps the reader involved, diversifies him and brings the relationship between Eleanor and Park to life. Though I found myself distant from the characters at the beginning, I soon was drawn wholly into this story and could not put it down. The only thing that left me wanting was the ending. It was so open ended that I was a bit dissatisfied. However, I was not left worrying about the characters, so it did not affect my opinion too much. Overall, the story is very real, raw and romantic. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone for a quick read!

If you look at my goodreads widget, you will notice that I am no longer reading 100,004 books! I finished Behind the Beautiful Forever’s by Katherine Boo. I think I’ll discuss that one in a post about my AP Lang class (which I am loving!) Anyway, that means I have picked up This Side of Paradise (yeah.. still working on it) again, huzzah! Also add this to the list of things that make me angry: I recently saw a post on tumblr of two people who were kissing and a quote from Paradise was on it: “They fell into an intimacy from which they never recovered.” Okay, in Paradise, that quote is used to describe two people who become good friends. Not a romantic couple. Why tumblr, why… Also it was made by the official Scribner tumblr, so I just don’t even know what to do anymore.

This was a long post. I hope you all had a lovely February and cheers to a warmer March!

Read on,

Kelsey

 

4 thoughts on “Shipping, Stars, and Maureen Johnson

  1. Pingback: Books to Mark

What do you think?

