Contemporary book suggestions and Holidays?

Hello! Happy November, almost thanksgiving :)

Last night my school’s literary magazine and library committee hosted an open mic and art show. Lots of students read their work and it was generally a great and creative time. A few people have asked me for book recommendations recently, so I thought I would share a list of my favorite contemporary books.

Graceling (and subsequent novels) by Kristin Cashore- Strong female protagonist, adventure, romance (not central), good writing. What more do you want?

The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare- “Prequel” series to the Mortal Instruments Series, excellent characters, great writing, great world.

I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak- simply amazing. It makes you think about people: who they are, where they come from. It offers a new perspective and Zusak is a brilliant writer. Highly recommend.

Paper Towns by John Green- This book changed my life this summer and inspired a lot of the themes in my writing. “What a treacherous thing to believe that a person is more than a person.” Basically, “as long as we don’t die, this is gonna be one hell of a story.”

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner- Told from two first person perspectives (alternating chapters), this story is remarkably good at balancing the protagonists. It’s a romance, but it is primarily about survival and perhaps love’s role in that survival.

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell- I had never read anything like this before, but it was fascinating. Why is it that certain people are successful?

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson- While her other books are average, The Name of the Star (and the series) is very good. It is well researched, and generally more intriguing. I went to a book talk with Miss Johnson and she was lovely, funny and quite a character.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern- The imagery in this book is honestly unparalleled. It takes place mostly in a magical circus that is so vividly described that I could probably walk around it on my own.

I hope that these are good suggestions. On another, unrelated note, I listened to Christmas music while I wrote this… what? only 6 weeks!!

Read on,

Kelsey

What do you think?

