Putting Yourself Out There

Happy mid-March! It’s finally warmer than 10 degrees here, which is a lovely fact. This winter I have come to realize how central the weather is to life. It is all anyone has been talking about, which is strange. What on earth will we talk about once there are no longer catastrophic storms to prepare for or recover from? I love conversations about writing and the writing process. I am taking a class this semester called Writers Craft and it is largely focused on habits that writers have. We’ve been talking about observation, detail, writing constantly, and emulating other great writers.

One of my favorite blogs is Christian Mihai’s blog. Mr. Mihai is a young author who grew up in Romania. He has several short stories, a novel and a novella. He helped to start an online magazine called Irevuo. That is everything that I know about him personally. What I know about him as a writer is that he is very good at articulating his writing experience and habits to which he subscribes. Yesterday, I read his most recent post “Write, Write, Write.” He opens the post saying, “there are two main rules to becoming a writer: read a lot and write a lot. You can’t do one without the other, no matter how much you try.” I agree with this. However, if I agree with this, then I have to say that there are three main rules to becoming a writer. *Disclaimer: I am still working toward this* The third is putting yourself out there.

I suppose that it depends on your definition of “being a writer,” but to me, sharing what one has created is an important part of the process. In fact, it can be a refreshing and integral part of the process. Writing requires a lot of alone time, so when there is an opportunity for someone else to read what’s been created, it is exciting, nerve wracking and valuable to the writer. Mr. Valentine, writers craft teacher/published author/very aware of writing life, told me once that no one will come to find my work, I have to put it out there. Especially at the beginning, no one will seek out a writer, he or she has to put himself and his work out there.

The great thing about blogging is that it makes one more comfortable with sharing, it forces one to write and it connects people to one another. Three great practices/habits for anyone who loves literature.

If anyone has any comments on this or thoughts or advice, please leave comments below or send emails to bookstomark@gmail.com. Also, check out the video from last week: The Ultimate Book Tag

Read, write, put yourself out there, do things that scare/challenge you.

Read on,
Kelsey

What do you think?