What Are You Reading?: New Book Recs!

Quite a few people have asked me for book recommendations lately. So, for this week’s post I thought I would make a list of all of the books that have either been released recently or are coming-soon that I am looking forward to. Without further ado, here we go.

1. The Museum of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman My school librarian and another of my mentors, Ms. Maza, recommended this book to me and said it was for readers who liked The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I loved The Night Circus. This looks magical, intriguing and fun.

2. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt There has been a lot of hype about The Goldfinch. Personally, I have heard mixed things. The description looks interesting, I always like a little mystery, a little intrigue and some missing artwork. It’s on my shelf, it’s coming soon.

3. Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline I was fortunate to meet Ms. Kline when she came to speak to a few of us at my school last year. We had a very nice conversation and I have been meaning to read Orphan Train for some time. I am always amazed by the amount of research writers do to make their work great and Ms. Kline discussed the work that she did to prepare to write this story.

4. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton So, the description makes this seem like YA fantasy, but I have heard really great things about this.

5. The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling, coming June 2014). So, I haven’t actually read The Cuckoo’s Calling yet, but I am excited to do so. This is the sequel, which comes out in June, so I thought I would link to it here. It will be interesting to read Jo when she isn’t writing as Jo.

6. The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd I loved The Secret Life of Bees. Kidd’s new book (it came out in January) follows the journey of a young girl and the slave she is given for her tenth birthday. If anyone could do this type of story well I think it would be Sue Monk Kidd and I look forward to it.

7. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira The premise of this book is intriguing. The main character learns about herself and the world around her by writing letters to dead people. Some of them are famous, some of them are not. I am interested to see how the writer treats the idea that I frequently play around with and the idea that I think is at the core of meaningful work; learning through writing.

8. The Storied Life of A.J. FIkry by Gabrielle Zevin It’s about a bookstore and bibliophiles. I don’t think I need to elaborate.

9. The Swan Gondola by Timorthy Schaffert I was attracted by the title and then by the words “reminiscent of The Night Circus.” A young romance in the midst of the Omaha World’s Fair? I will take it.

10. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman I have heard nothing but good things about this and Neil Gaiman is a genius, so there’s that. The Amazon description is very short, so basically I am intrigued.

So, there you have it. New/coming soon books that I am looking forward to. I realize that this is historical fiction/mystery heavy, so I learned something here. If you have thoughts on any of these please leave them in comments!

Read on,
Kelsey

What do you think?

